Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Josh Karp  

Pen Name: None

Genre: Fiction

Born: 1966 in Chicago, Illinois

Sites:

E-Mail:


Illinois Connection

Karp was born in Chicago and graduated from Northwestern University. He currently resides in Glenco, Illinois.

Biographical and Professional Information

Karp has written for Atlantic Monthly, Salon, Premiere, LA Times Sunday Magazine, TimeOut New York, Chicago Magazine, Chicago Sun-Times and other publications. He received his Master's in Journalism from Northwestern University and is an adjunct lecturer of journalism at Northwestern, University. He has also taught at Loyola and DePaul.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

A Futile and Stupid Gesture: How Doug Kenney and National Lampoon Changed Comedy Forever
ISBN: 1556527624

Chicago Review Press. 2008

The ultimate biography of National Lampoon and its cofounder Doug Kenney, this book offers the first complete history of the immensely popular magazine and its brilliant and eccentric characters. With wonderful stories of the comedy scene in New York City in the 1970s and National Lampoon's place at the center of it, this chronicle shares how the magazine spawned a popular radio show and two long-running theatrical productions that helped launch the careers of John Belushi, Bill Murray, Chevy Chase, and Gilda Radner and went on to inspire Saturday Night Live. More than 130 interviews were conducted with people connected to Kenney and the magazine, including Chevy Chase, John Hughes, P. J. O'Rourke, Tony Hendra, Sean Kelly, Chris Miller, and Bruce McCall. These interviews and behind-the-scene stories about the making of both Animal House and Caddyshack help to capture the nostalgia, humor, and popular culture that National Lampoon inspires.

Straight Down the Middle: Shivas Irons, Bagger Vance, and How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love My Golf Swing
ISBN: 081186359X

Chronicle Books. 2010

Straight Down the Middle is a humorous and insightful account of journalist and former-18-handicap golfer Josh Karp's quest to achieve inner peace and improve his golf gameall through the art of Zen. Assisted by a quirky roster of excellent practitioners of esoteric, Eastern-fueled, nontraditional golf instruction, Karp embarks on a unique journey across the fairways of North America (and Scotland, of course!) that's as funny as it is illuminating. A golf story in the tradition of The Legend of Bagger Vance, Straight Down the Middle is a blend of helpful tips and hilarious memoir that's a must-read for golfers of all stripes and plaids.


Awards

-- Josh Karp's first book, A Futile and Stupid Gesture: How Doug Kenney and National Lampoon Changed Comedy Forever, won best biography of 2006 at the Midwest Book Awards and also the Independent Publisher Book Awards.