Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Nan Johnson McCarthy  

Pen Name: None

Genre:

Born: 1961 in Chicago, Illinois

Sites:

E-Mail:


Illinois Connection

McCarthy was born in Chicago and graduated from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.

Biographical and Professional Information

Originally from Chicago, Nan McCarthy graduated from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign in 1983 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Advertising. Nan founded Rainwater Press in 1992 and is a former magazine editor & technology journalist. She now lives in the Kansas City area.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

Chat: A Cybernovel
ISBN: 067102339X

Pocket Books. 1998

IT ALL BEGAN WITH A SIMPLE
chat:-)

This utterly original novel invites you to "eavesdrop" on the electronic correspondence between two people who have just met online: Bev, a tough-minded book editor who has been logging on for years, and Max, a restless advertising copywriter who boldly strikes up a conversation. With each e-mail exchange, two people who are at first faceless come vibrantly alive through their sometimes serious, frequently funny, and always believable messages to each other. As Bev becomes less inhibited, Max becomes more fascinated, and their relationship grows more intense -- until an unforeseen event changes the rules of the game forever.

Intimate, compelling, and unpredictable, Chat gives a fresh twist to the thrill of romantic adventure.

Connect: A Very Modern Love Story (Cyber)
ISBN: 0671023403

Pocket Books. 1998

A second installment of a trilogy compared to Griffin & Sabine continues the online romance of Bev, who is growing less inhibited, and Max, whose fascination is increasing. Reprint.

Crash: A Very Modern Love Story (Cyber)
ISBN: 0671023411

Pocket Books. 1998

The final installment of a trilogy written in the tradition of Griffin & Sabine concludes the online story of editor Bev and restless copywriter Max when an unforeseen event changes the rules of the game. Original.

Live 'Til I Die: A Memoir of My Father's Life
ISBN: 1888354038

Rainwater Press. 2001

Book by Nan McCarthy


Awards

-- N/A