Illinois State Library

Illinois Center for the Book


Individual Author Record

General Information

Name:  Nancy S. Wikarski  

Pen Name: NS Wikarski

Genre: Fiction

Born:

Sites:


Illinois Connection

The author earned her PhD from the University of Chicago.

Biographical and Professional Information

After earning her Ph.D. from the University of Chicago, Nancy Wikarski became a computer consultant and then turned to writing mysteries and alternative history fiction. Her short stories have appeared in Futures Magazine and DIME Anthology, while her book reviews have been featured in Murder: Past Tense and Deadly Pleasures. She has written the Gilded Age Mystery series set in 1890s Chicago. The series has received People's Choice Award nominations for best first novel and best historical. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America and Sisters In Crime.


Published Works Expand for more information


Titles At Your Library

The Fall of White City
ISBN: 0972033505

Northgate Press LLC. 2002

AWARD-NOMINATED AMAZON BESTSELLER
For fans of Mystery, Thrillers, Historical Fiction, and Turn-of-the Century Chicago


VICTORIAN CHICAGO MYSTERIES
Chicago in the 1890s is the fastest growing metropolis in America. It rivals New York as the City of the Century and the epitome of the Gilded Age. This melting pot of thieves and corrupt politicians, robber barons and immigrants, is rife with scandal and social injustice.

An eccentric heiress and a cub reporter find themselves repeatedly drawn into the hidden world of intrigue and murder that lurks within the shadows of the White City.


Volume One - The Fall of White City
Wealthy spinster Evangeline LeClair leads a paradoxical life. By day, she fends off marriage-minded suitors. By night, she teaches English to factory workers at a social settlement in the slums. Evangeline is quite satisfied with the status quo until murder disrupts her routine. One of her students, a penniless immigrant named Elsa, has been stabbed to death in Chicago's most exclusive hotel. Elsa's brother Franz, a known anarchist, is accused of the crime.


Evangeline believes she can aid Franz by tracking down the real killer herself. She wheedles her admirer, Freddie Simpson, into helping her investigate. Their list of possible suspects is long: a captain of industry, a denizen of the slums, a shady doctor who mixes his own drugs, or a teenage prostitute from a sporting house in the Levee District. The gleaming surface of the World's Fair casts many shadows. THE FALL OF WHITE CITY exposes the darkness at its core.

Shrouded in Thought
ISBN: 0972033513

Northgate Press LLC. 2005

VICTORIAN CHICAGO MYSTERIES (AWARD NOMINATED)
Where Historical Fact Meets Mystery Fiction
Chicago in the 1890s is the fastest growing metropolis in America. It rivals New York as the City of the Century and the epitome of the Gilded Age.This melting pot of thieves and corrupt politicians, robber barons and immigrants, is rife with scandal and social injustice.

An eccentric heiress and a cub reporter find themselves repeatedly drawn into the hidden world of intrigue and murder that lurks within the shadows of the White City.


Volume 2 - Shrouded in Thought
Rookie journalist Freddie Simpson finds himself on the horns of a dilemma when he is sent to cover the accidental drowning of a factory worker. It takes only a few minutes to convince him that the girl was murdered, probably by the suspicious vagrant he notices hovering around the crime scene.


Freddie tries to drag his friend Evangeline into the case, but she has problems of her own. She's already knee-deep in a civic investigation to resolve the Pullman Strike that has crippled national train service and threatens to tear Chicago apart. Evangeline's priorities shift radically, however, when Freddie's prime suspect is implicated in the poisoning of one of her neighbors.


For the two amateur detectives, a random drowning becomes intertwined with labor riots, a national railroad strike, a medium who speaks to the dead, a blackmailer, and a murderer intent on covering his tracks by any means necessary. In SHROUDED IN THOUGHT, a killer learns he can outrun everything except a guilty conscience.

The Granite Key (Arkana Mysteries Book 1)
ISBN: B004NIFTI8

. 2013

AMAZON BESTSELLER
Series Finale Award-Nominated as Best Mystery of the Month (L.A.S. Reviews, February 2017)
For Fans of Mystery, Urban Fantasy, Alternative History, and Archaeology Adventure


The Arkana Series
An ancient civilization hovers on the brink of collapse. Besieged by invaders, it entrusts its most precious artifacts to a band of guardians who hide the objects where no one can find them. Three thousand years later, two rival factions launch a global hunt to recover the cache. The Arkana wants to preserve it for posterity. The Nephilim wants to exploit it for a darker purpose. Caught in the crossfire is a reluctant psychic whose visions might offer the only chance of salvaging their coveted treasure.

Volume 1 - The Granite Key
In THE GRANITE KEY, an antique dealer is killed for a mysterious cipher stone which can reveal the location of a trove of priceless relics. The victim's sister warily agrees to help the Arkana recover the artifacts. Along with two field agents, she is sent to the Minoan ruins of Crete to hunt for clues. While the trio rakes through megalithic tombs and Minoan palaces, enemy operatives are watching their every move. This search for lost treasure has placed two rival factions on a collision course with disaster. The only question is whether anyone will live long enough to claim the prize.


Awards

--